Land Trusts Achieve Professional Excellence

Accreditation by the Land Trust Accreditation Commission is a national mark of distinction which ensures conservational excellence for public lands. 

Recently, nearly three dozen public land trusts were granted accreditation by the Commission, whether it be for the first time or for renewal.

The Commission is an independent program of the Land Trust Alliance, an organization dedicated to national land conservation looking to preserve the places which Americans love. Each accredited land trust is subject to extensive documentation standards and must be put through careful review when being considered for accreditation or renewal of accreditation. Because the process is extremely meticulous and success is not guaranteed to applicants, the procedure helps guarantee the longevity of lands valued by locals and all Americans alike.

Tammara Van Ryn, executive director of the Land Trust Accreditation Commission, had this to say about the newly-accredited and newly-renewed land trusts:

"We welcome the 18 land trusts that have today earned first-time accreditation and the 16 land trusts that received renewed accreditation. Their accomplishments are a testament to all we can achieve for our communities when we work together."

Rand Wentworth, president of the Land Trust Alliance, also welcomed the announcement:

"Accredited land trusts are the brightest stars in the constellation of land trusts, and they have earned national recognition for their commitment to excellence and public trust."

The first-time inductees into the hall of accreditation are as follows:

Riverside Land Conservancy California
Access Fund Colorado
Weantinoge Heritage Land Trust Connecticut
Georgia Piedmont Land Trust Georgia
Palouse Land Trust Idaho
Land Trust for Louisiana Louisiana
Harpswell Heritage Land Trust Maine
Oceanside Conservation Trust of Casco Bay Maine
Orono Land Trust Maine
Rangeley Lakes Heritage Trust Maine
Massachusetts Audubon Society Massachusetts
Sheriff’s Meadow Foundation Massachusetts
Saginaw Basin Land Conservancy Michigan
Champlain Area Trails New York
Greene Land Trust New York
Western New York Land Conservancy New York
Wolf River Conservancy Tennessee
Natural Heritage Land Trust Wisconsin


























The land trusts receiving renewed accreditation are:

Center for Natural Lands Management California
Black Canyon Regional Land Trust Colorado
Montezuma Land Conservancy Colorado
Rio Grande Headwaters Land Trust Colorado
Alachua Conservation Trust Florida
Oconee River Land Trust  Georgia
Montana Land Reliance  Montana
The Land Conservancy of New Jersey New Jersey
Conservation Trust for North Carolina  North Carolina
Southern Appalachian Highlands Conservancy North Carolina
McKenzie River Trust Oregon
Lancaster County Conservancy Pennsylvania
Tennessee Parks & Greenways Foundation Tennessee
Northeast Wilderness Trust Vermont
Stowe Land Trust  Vermont
Jackson Hole Land Trust Wyoming

The total number of accredited land trusts changes as a result variables such as consolidation among land trusts. You can click here for the most current list.